Search Contact information
University of Cambridge Home Department of Engineering
University of Cambridge > Engineering Department > Faculty & Staff

Professor Norman A Fleck   FREng, FRS

Contact Details
Tel:  +44 (0)1223 748240
Fax:  +44 (0)1223 332662

Cambridge University Engineering Department
Trumpington Street, Cambridge, CB2 1PZ, UK

Research Interests
The mechanics of materials, including the role of microstructural evolution during processing and use upon material performance. Sintering of thermal barrier coatings,and the dependence of toughness and erosion resistance upon the morphology of microstructure. The mechanics of failure of lattice materials under extreme environments.

  • Post-doctoral research fellow at Harvard University and Cambridge University (Lindeman Trust and Maudsley Trust), 1983-85
  • PhD in Materials Engineering, Cambridge University Engineering Department, 1980-83
  • BA in Engineering, Cambridge University, 1976-79

  • Appointments
  • Professor of Mechanics of Materials, Cambridge University Engineering Department, 1997-
  • Reader 1994-97, Lecturer 1985-94, Cambridge University Engineering Department
  • Head of Mechanics, Materials and Design Division of the Cambridge University Engineering Department, 1996-2008
  • Founder Director of the Cambridge Centre for Micromechanics

  • Honours and Awards
  • ISI Highly cited researcher in Engineering
  • 2014 Honorary doctorate from Eindhoven University of Technology
  • 2013 ASME Koiter medal for International Leadership in Mechanics
  • 2011 Humboldt Research Award
  • 2008 Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering
  • 2006 Fellow of the European Mechanics Society
  • 2005 Fellow of the European Academy of Sciences
  • 2004 Fellow of the Royal Society, London
  • 2001 Fellow of Academia Europaea
  • 1997 Fellow of the Institue of Materials, Minerals and Mining and Chartered Engineers

  • Research Group Affiliation
  • Micromechanics
  • Materials
  • Engineering for the Life Sciences

  • Publications
    Click here for a full list of publications

    Postal Address: University of Cambridge, Department of Engineering, Trumpington Street, Cambridge CB2 1PZ, UK

    Last updated 29 January 2014